Illustrating ‘Exploring’

Yesterday i shared a section from my auto-ethnographic work on ‘being an explorer’. I really rather enjoyed throwing myself into this, and today i’m illustrating the chapter. I wanted to make a physical illustration to go with it, and have settled on a lino print, but will have to see how it works out. It’s the largest one i’ve ever done, so it may be a challenge to print by hand.

I normally illustrate on the iPad, although for ‘The Humble Leader’ i did use pen and ink drawn leaves. Hand illustration, on real media, always feels somehow better, even though the challenge of successfully scanning to digital afterwards can be a pain, and frustrating.

I wanted the landscape here to represent the ‘ecosystem’ language that i’ve been exploring more recently, as well as the moon shining over it, in a nod to the Apollo book. I’ll share the final piece once done, if it works!

About julianstodd

Author, Artist, Researcher, and Founder of Sea Salt Learning. My work explores the context of the Social Age and the intersection of formal and social systems.
This entry was posted in Learning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Illustrating ‘Exploring’

  1. Julian, eres tan creativo que despiertas el interés en seguir explorando y aprendiendo, te lo dice una mujer de 75 años. Gracias.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.