The Making of Me: A Critical Reflection

As part of my own professional development, i’m embarking on a critical reappraisal of my published work around the Social Age. This will primarily consist of a retrospective analysis and review of my seventeen published books and other works, alongside a critical and reflective journey through my influences and experiences, and an attempt to document the flow, the change, and the direction of travel.

Or to put it another way: i intend to get lost in the past, and find my way to the future.

If things go well, i hope to take the learning and insights from this activity and weave them into a broad publication that captures the essence and challenge of the Social Age. A Social Age Handbook.

This will be as much a journey to leave things behind as to discover the new.

My formative experiences as an archaeologist and material scientist left me with a conflicted view of sense making: as story and as science, the former a primarily subjective interpretation, and the latter as a progressively tested narrative (although i later came to realise that scientists can be the best storytellers).

My experience as a researcher left me able to become comfortably lost: it built the understanding of research as a process of fracturing our certainty, a theme that has remained with me and influential in my work.

But it took me a lot longer to learn to be a cartographer: to map the journey. Or, more accurately, to sketch it.

This last piece is perhaps the most important: it was a combination of emergent blogging technology and social recognition, personal circumstance of work, and weariness with both academic precision and business hyperbole, that led me to #WorkingOutLoud, which both liberated and saved me.

I spent nearly ten years as a student, ten years in business, and now ten years as a researcher and writer (and, i guess, still in business, but a different type of business). This journey was almost one of breath: breathing in to be nourished by the freedom, breathing out to conform and build, and then a freedom to breathe in again.

And now that pause.

Last year i introduced the notion over on Social Leadership Daily of being ‘in practice’, and this year i will carry that further into my own work. To be in my own practice, and to #WorkOutLoud as i do so.

About julianstodd

Author, Artist, Researcher, and Founder of Sea Salt Learning. My work explores the context of the Social Age and the intersection of formal and social systems.
This entry was posted in Learning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.