I am an Island

We share a different story in every direction that we face: we make parts of our journey alone. On our island, we can tend to the land, we can build a house. We can shape the landscape, and look out across the sea. Past the breakers and the reef, we see the other islands: we voyage out, making connections, trading, sharing ideas. We come together to celebrate and reminisce, then return to our island. I am an island, but i am not alone.

My writing this week has explored ways that we understand the world, something i first explored in a book a few years ago about ‘learning, knowledge, and meaning’. Revisiting this area reminded me of how our worldview, our perceptions, our beliefs, are so essentially islands: we can visit, we can see others, but ultimately, our understanding of the world sits as one.

About julianstodd

Author, Artist, Researcher, and Founder of Sea Salt Learning. My work explores the context of the Social Age and the intersection of formal and social systems.
This entry was posted in Learning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to I am an Island

  1. Pingback: What I’m Thinking About: Domains of Knowledge | Julian Stodd's Learning Blog

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.